Blog Entry #13. August 18th, 2020.


Helo everyone. It's 11:41pm as I write this.


Hope everyone is doing well! I'm feeling a lot better since my last post. I hate when I get that way, but it happens sometimes. Just gotta deal with it and make sure I continue to get out of bed and do things instead of just wallowing in my sadness.


Not too much has happened since my last post. I've been trying to voice chat with my friends in other states a lot more lately. I really like doing this, it's nice to talk and laugh with them. I feel bad though because I end up feeling really tired and feel like I don't have much to say. But it's still something that makes me happy. A few days ago, while at the grocery store I saw that that they had this niche brand of glass-bottled soda called "Jones". I bought two bottles. One which was some sort of blue razzberry/lemonade flavor, and the other which was green apple. These were both absolutely awful. They had horrible after tastes, and they made me feel even more thirsty after drinking them. A real shame, but I guess you just can't beat a classic Dr. Pepper :)





Last night for dinner, I decided to have breakfast and make some chocolate chip pancakes from scratch! They were delicious. I've only made pancakes from scratch a handful of times, but I'd usually burn them. But this time, they were absolutely perfect and they tasted fantastic. Sorry, but I forgot to take pictures of them!


Tonight, I cooked "Tonkatsu Curry", which is a japanese styled fried pork cutlet, white rice, and japanese curry. I've made "Katsu Curry" before (which is chicken instead of pork), but I think the pork is definitely the way to go. I was really nervous to make it as I've actually never fried pork before, and I know you have to be very careful when you cook pork to make sure it isn't undercooked, but to also make sure it doesn't get too dry. But, in the end it all tasted fantastic and cooked perfectly. The curry has onions, carrots, and potatoes in it. It was o warm and filling, I can't wait to make it again!





There have been a lot of beautiful butterflies coming to the garden recently. I even know the names of a couple of them, thanks to Animal Crossing! I took a picture of one that I saw today. I thought it looked very pretty. The picture didn't turn out the best, but I thought it looked nice enough.





I've read 3 out of the 4 manga that I posted about a little while ago. I'll read the 4th tomorrow, probably. But for now, I'm going to talk about the three that I read!


The first one is "Hi Score Girl Vol 1". This is a manga that has a very simple story. A young boy considers himself the best at arcade games, but his world is turned upside down when the rich and smart girl from school ends up being better than him! I've only read the first volume so far, but it's a very realistic, very funny, and surprisingly good slice of life story about two kids who started out hating each other, but slowly begin to become friends. I was feeling some very strong emotions towards the end of the book. The way the author portrays the characters and their story hits home because of just how simple and real it is. The art style is also very unique. I can't wait to get the second volume.





The second manga I read is "Beastars Vol 1". I had no idea that this manga would be about high school theatre/drama club (with a murder mystery thrown in for good measure). But it isn't just about any of that. The characters are animals but the story is very human. The art is rough and unpolished but adds to the intensity of the story and writing. It all pairs so well. A herbivore student is murdered and eaten by a carnivore student, causing tensions between the two groups of students. It's kind of like Zootopia, now that I think about it lol. But it's pretty good so far, I'm definitely looking forward to reading the next volume.





The final one I read is called "My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness". This is not something I'd ever expect to see in a manga. Stuff like this is something you'd more likely see in a western graphic novel, or just a regular chapter book. It's an autobiographical manga that follows the author's trials and tribulations to get out of her depressed rut and learn how to love herself. It's a very real and unapologetic look into how the author's life was during her rough time. I think a lot of people could really benefit from reading this one!





Well, that's it for this time! I hope the rest of the week ends up being as simple and slow as the last couple days have been. Thanks for reading everyone, and may your heart be your guiding key.